Alice Nakamura is a music composer in Tokyo.
She composes music freely with her imagination,
typically to describe nature and emotion of people.

Alice Nakamura

Born in Tokyo, Japan in 1982. She received a master’s degree from the graduate school of Tokyo College of Music in 2007. She studied composition with Akira Nishimura, Noriko Hisada and Sho Ueda, and piano performance with Yukiko Takeshima and Setsuko Miyahara. She has been awarded the top prize in the 2nd President’s Prize of Tokyo College of Music, second prize in Composition at the 82nd Music Competition of Japan and second prize in Toru Takemitsu Composition Award 2016. She also was awarded more than 80 other awards including Red Baton award in the Red Stick International Animation Festival in 2009 in video work “Lost Utopia”, which she provided the music. She was a finalist of the 27th Competition of Akutagawa Award for Music Composition. Her recent work includes “Nacres for Orchestra” (2015), “KATASHIRO from The Tale Of Genji for Soprano, Tenor and Pianoforte ” (2017), “Honey muffins, No sugar, Spring flavors for Mandolin, Pianoforte, Guitar, Electric Bass, Drums” (2018) and “Ro for 20 stringed-koto and 17 stringed-koto” (2019) among others.


1982年6月19日、東京都港区生まれ。2007年東京音楽大学大学院 作曲指揮専攻 作曲研究領域修 了。 作曲を西村朗、久田典子、植田 彰、ピアノを竹島悠紀子、宮原節子の各氏に師事。

第2回東京音楽大学学長賞、第82回日本音楽コンクール作曲部門第2位、2016年度 武満徹作曲賞第2 位受賞。映像作品『Lost Utopia』では、レッドスティック国際アニメーション映画祭2009レッドバ トン賞 (実験/音楽部門の最優秀賞)等を受賞。第27回芥川作曲賞ファイナリスト。

近年の作品には、《Nacres オーケストラのために》(2015)、《かたしろ -源氏物語より- ソプラノ、 テノール、ピアノのために》(2017)、《Honey muffins, No sugar, Spring flavors マンドリン、ギター、 ピアノ、エレキベース、ドラムスのために》(2018)、《Ro 二十絃箏と十七絃箏 のために》(2019) などがある。

2009年よりロサンゼルス、また2014年よりバンコクでの活動を経た後、2019年に帰国。2021年よ りカリフォルニア在住。


Start typing and press Enter to search